Thursday Pedagogy 7.5.15

Its almost six months ever since I have said goodbye to news(channels/papers), and honestly I am not regretting my decision even the least!

Of course life catches me by surprise sometimes, just like when the Nepal quake happened and a close friend wrote me half a dozen mails asking me if I was alright. I had to check google and ruin the remaining day to see where the quake occurred. 😦

Even then I truly don’t regret not being up to date with world news (disaster-wise), I think I have had enough of negativity spilled into my life through newspapers/media. My brother listens to (?) morning news and honestly I think they should be censored, who wants to listen about the ghoulish things that has happened all over the world with morning tea? oh boy! they gave me creeps! When they share those stories with cool makeup and dresses I remember that king of The lord of the rings who was eating grapes and one of the hobbits was feeling as if it was blood dripping from his mouth!

Just a few days back I tried to think about getting a newspaper vendor to deliver papers, but then when I read the headlines of the papers in the stall I decided I am better off without them!

Thursday pedagogy logo

4 comments

  1. Ah…this made me recall a quote by Henry David Thoreau….“And I am sure that I never read any memorable news in a newspaper. If we read of one man robbed, or murdered, or killed by accident, or one house burned, or one vessel wrecked, or one steamboat blown up, or one cow run over on the Western Railroad, or one mad dog killed, or one lot of grasshoppers in the winter, – we need never read of another. One is enough. If you are acquainted with the principle, what do you care for a myriad instances and applications?”

    ― Henry David Thoreau, Walden

Thanks for your comment, please leave your URL to allow me the pleasure of visiting your blog

