Posted in august platter

Velvet bugs

Sharmishtha Basu
9.8.12

I took birth in a place near Agra (The city where Tajmahal is), by name Tundla. I have not seen these bugs anywhere else, I don’t know if they were the descendants of some escapees from someone’s exotic collection but they are in one word the most beautiful bugs I have ever seen after butterflies.

They lived under the dry land of a field that stretched for miles after our Officer’s colony quarters, but a single splash of rain made them come out in hundreds, they looked like ladybugs made of velvet. They felt like velvet too, there is no other way their wings can be described- their size was of theirs, have not seen anyone bigger than a ladybug. Their colour was almost the colour I captured. So you can guess their beauty I believe.

We used to capture them merrily and bring them home, but they used dig out of every prison we created for them.

My elder brother created a fantastic prison for them but they evaded that too, most probably through the draining pipe. He used a concrete tub made for feeding cows, he created a fantastic wall of aquarium or window glasses (can’t remember the origin any more, I was barely eight or nine years old I guess) but the next morning they were not there.

Author:

A bookworm transformed into an addicted writer. I love to write and illustrate them myself. By love I mean love, no half-hearted relationship, a full-fledged, passionate love, I can’t pass two days in a stretch without writing/painting (cyber), just feel empty like lovers do when their lovers are away on a tour! Even though I am thoroughly enjoying self-publishing with amazon, but if you like my work and want to publish my works in your magazine, books or better if you want to publish a book of my works please make me very happy by contacting me. Or if you want to sell my works on commission basis only!! contact me, I will be quite relieved. Honestly writing and selling your own work is a very BORING combination. So you are more than welcome! Mail me @sharmishthabasu@hotmail.com, sermistabasu@gmail.com or go to- my blog (I have 16 blogs in wordpress, all active, some on daily basis, every one on weekly basis screaming and vowing my LOVE for writing and painting- this one is first-born, so special) mydomainpvt.wordpress.com (You will get the link to my remaining blogs there) or you can check out my ezines- monthly- Agnishatdalezine.wordpress.com And Agnijaat.wordpress.com if you want fb you can go to my page facebook.com/sermistabasu, linkedin- linkedin.com/authorsharmishthabasu my email id sharmishthabasu@hotmail.com and sermistabasu@gmail.com I am in goodreads and completelynovel too http://www.goodreads.com/sharmishthabasu http://completelynovel.com/sharmishtha-basu http://amazon.com/author/sharmishthabasu I guess I said enough about myself, right? You will forget if I stuff too much here, so if you are curious to know this humble creature just join me in my blogs :)

14 thoughts on “Velvet bugs

      1. Thank God. Then I will not make the same mistake. I think I had better steer clear of Haiku. it looks belie it’s difficulties. My URL may be: ‘relative3ap.com’ or ‘Welcome To My Poetry Blog’
        Other than that there is nothing else whatever in the address bar above my poems.

      2. i dont think i guided you right, you will see something like this in the address bar after you have clicked on the title of the poem you want me to read: https://coloursandwordswaltz.wordpress.com/2012/08/09/velvet-bugs/; if you copy paste this url in your address bar you will get this specific poem. Whereas if you copy paste : https://coloursandwordswaltz.wordpress.com you will reach the homepage of my blog.

        Haiku mostly adds up to seventeen syllables in three lines :) i use one single style 5-7-5 syllables/line, those who are expert use other forms.

      3. I was never any good at Maths, Sharmishtha. I think i’ll carry on as usual. You seem to be able to find my stuff without the URL. What may seem logical and simple to you, is like an inconvenient maze to me. I guess it’s something autism.

Thanks for your comment, please leave your URL to allow me the pleasure of visiting your blog